Leg before wicket. LBW LBW is a bit like the offside rule in football
— many people claim to know it, but how many really do? Our handy checklist means that, whether you
find yourself umpiring an international test match, or the kids on the beach — your reputation
for fairness will remain intact. There are 5 basic criteria to consider… The batsman is out LBW if: One: the bowler bowls a ball that isn’t a
no ball…(unlike this poor fellow…) Two: the ball, if it is not intercepted on
the full, pitches in line between wicket and wicket, or on the off side of the batsman’s
wicket. (It cannot be out if the ball pitches outside the line of the leg stump.) Three: the ball hits the batsman, either full
pitch or after pitching and before he hits it with his bat… Four: This is where it gets a bit more complicated.
If the batsman was making a genuine attempt to play the ball, the point of impact must
be between wicket and wicket for LBW to be an option. However, if the batsman has made
no genuine attempt to play the ball, the contact must either be between wicket and wicket or
outside the line of the off stump. Five: This is the crucial part — but for
the interception by the batsman, the ball would have gone on to hit the stumps. Any questions ? — just refer to Law 36 in
the blue book.

Tagged : # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #

Dennis Veasley

24 thoughts on “LBW | The 2000 Code of the Laws of Cricket with Stephen Fry”

  1. The "and dislodge the bails" bit is an unnecessary and potentially problematic aspect in this video: it's clearly not an aspect of the law as written, where the ball only needs to "hit the wicket". Picky but important, especially if you're learning the rules for the first time.

  2. All i can say is thank god Ireland don't really pay attention to Cricket, trying to explain LBW over & over would do my head in

  3. When a right-handed batsman faces a left-arm bowler bowling over the wicket. If the ball pitches out side the leg stump, it not given LBW. No matter how adjacent the impact is to the stumps. I think it is somewhat harsh.

  4. Rule # 2 animation shows batsman could be out if ball pitches outside off stump. Not exactly a full explanation. If the batsman is right handed and the bowler is a lefty, and the bowler is bowling over the wicket he cannot get an LBW decision if the ball pitches out of line, even outside off. There are a few scenarios with lefty and righty batsmen and bowlers that weren't explained here.  Still a good video.

  5. These laws discriminate against leg spinners yet Warnie still managed to take more wickets than any other bowler in the history of the game with a legal action.  No wonder you lesser, off spinning types feel the need to cheat us of wickets.

  6. I was advised to turn to you regarding lbw as it seems more complicated than anticipated,
    This evening, Eng vs Pak, Eng reviews a suspected lbw and the graphic shows the ball would indeed hit the stumps, CLEAR AS THE SUMMER SKIES, however it was not given lbw.Worst of all, the British commentators knew it before the graphic.(around Pak -8)
    Could you please be more specific as to under what conditions the lbw will be given?

  7. Is there any book named as 'The Laws of Cricket'. I there is a book like this, can we buy it? If we can, pls tell the place where we will find it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *